Stockport Actress Lucy Dixon to perform lead role in By The Waters of Liverpool

Manchester theatre - Lucy Dixon

Stockport Actress Lucy Dixon will take on the lead role of Helen Forrester in the touring production of By The Waters of Liverpool.

Lucy Dixon will take on the role in the stage adaptation of one of Helen Forrester’s best-selling books.  The tour will span 11 weeks, visiting 17 venues including her home town of Stockport.

By The Waters Of Liverpool is set in the 1930s after Helen’s father went bankrupt during the Depression. Her family were forced to leave behind the nannies, servants and comfortable middle-class life in the South West of England. The Forresters chose Liverpool to rebuild their shattered lives, but they were in for a terrible shock. Taken out of school to look after her young siblings, Helen is treated as an unpaid slave. So begins a bitter fight with her parents for the right to go out to work and make her own way in life. But by 1939 and with Britain on the verge of war, Helen now aged 20, has still never been kissed by a man. But things start looking up for her when she meets a tall strong seaman and falls in love.

The actress, who is widely known for her roles as Danielle Harker in TV series Waterloo Road and Tilly Evans in soap Hollyoaks, was nominated for Best Actress at the TV Choice Awards for her portrayal of Tilly.  Her other TV credits include Birds Of A Feather, Casualty, Scott & Bailey and Doctors.  Whilst theatre credits include Sweet Charity, The Girl From The Ward, Lord Of The Flies, and Peter Pan.

Also featuring in the production of the million-selling book By The Waters Of Liverpool are Sian Reeves, Mark Moraghan, Parry Glasspool, Eric Potts, Lynn Francis, Danny O’Brien, Roy Carruthers, and Chloe McDonald.

Speaking about Helen’s story, Lucy commented: “I’m hugely excited to be playing Helen Forrester. I wasn’t aware of Helen’s books initially, but when I told my Grandma the news that I would be playing Helen on stage, she told me she had read her books. It made me feel so proud that it’s been entrusted to me tell this well-known heartfelt story.

“I’m really looking forward to delving deep into the story, the character, the relationships, and the struggles they faced. My grandparents grew up in the 1930s so I feel it will give me more of an understanding of what families went through.

“I read the script and was instantly drawn to Helen.  She’s clever, she has a thirst for knowledge and to better her circumstances – she never gives up through all the adversity. It instantly struck me how much of a true fighter she is for the working class and for equal rights – which is again prominent today with the #MeToo movement. I love reading and learning about strong women.  It inspires me.

“I’m very excited about the tour.  The last time I went on tour was in 2016 – so I’ve dusted off my theatre slippers and my walking boots. But I’ll miss my own bed, you can’t beat your own bed! Touring gives you the chance to travel to places you may have not been to yet. I’ve never been to the Isle Of Man, so I’m looking forward to our visit.”

When does By The Waters Of Liverpool run at Stockport Plaza?

By The Waters Of Liverpool runs at Stockport Plaza from 10-12 March 2020.

FLORAL PAVILION
Tuesday 3 March – Sunday 8 March 2020
Marine Promenade, New Brighton, Wirral, CH45 2JS
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: www.floralpavilion.com
Box Office: 0151 666 0000

STOCKPORT PLAZA
Tuesday 10 March – Thursday 12 March 2020
Mersey Square, Stockport, SK1 1SP
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: www.stockportplaza.co.uk
Box Office: 0161 477 7779

WARRINGTON PARR HALL
Saturday 14 March – Sunday 15 March 2020
Palmyra Square, Warrington, WA1 1BL
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: https://parrhall.culturewarrington.org/whats-on
Box Office: 01925 442345

ST HELENS THEATRE ROYAL
Tuesday 17 March – Saturday 21 March 2020
Corporation Street, St Helens, WA10 1LQ
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: www.sthelenstheatreroyal.com
Box Office: 01744 756000

LANCASTER GRAND THEATRE
Monday 23 March – Tuesday 24 March 2020
St Leonardgate, Lancaster, LA1 1QW
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: www.lancastergrand.co.uk
Box Office: 01524 64695

CREWE LYCEUM
Wednesday 25 March – Thursday 26 March 2020
Heath Street, Crewe, CW1 2DA
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: www.crewelyceum.co.uk
Box Office: 01270 368242

SOUTHPORT THEATRE
Friday 27 March – Saturday 28 March 2020
The Promenade, Southport, PR9 0DZ
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: www.waterfrontsouthport.co.uk/events/whats-on
Box Office: 01704 500036

PAVILION THEATRE RHYL
Tuesday 31 March – Saturday 4 April 2020
East Parade, Rhyl, LL18 3AQ
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: www.rhylpavilion.co.uk
Box Office: 01745 330000

GRAND THEATRE SWANSEA
Monday 6 April – Tuesday 7 April 2020
Singleton Street, Swansea, SA1 3QJ
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: www.swansea.gov.uk/swanseagrandtheatre
Box Office: 01792 475715

DARLINGTON HIPPODROME
Thursday 9 April – Saturday 11 April 2020
Parkgate, Darlington, DL1 1RR
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: www.darlingtonhippodrome.co.uk
Box Office: 01325 405405

MALVERN THEATRES
Tuesday 14 April – Wednesday 15 April 2020
Grange Road, Malvern, WR14 3HB
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: www.malvern-theatres.co.uk
Box Office: 01684 892277

DEVONSHIRE PARK THEATRE EASTBOURNE
Friday 17 April – Saturday 18 April 2020
Compton Street, Eastbourne, BN21 4BW
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: www.eastbournetheatres.co.uk
Box Office: 01323 412000

GAIETY THEATRE ISLE OF MAN
Thursday 23 April – Saturday 25 April 2020
Villa Marina, Douglas, Isle Of Man, IM1 2HJ
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: https://www.villagaiety.com/
Box Office: 01624 600555

BECK THEATRE HAYES
Monday 27 April – Tuesday 28 April 2020
Grange Road, Hayes, Middlesex, UB3 2UE
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: https://becktheatre.org.uk
Box Office: 020 85618371

THEATRE ROYAL WINCHESTER
Thursday 30 April – Saturday 2 May 2020
21-23 Jewry Street, Winchester, SO23 8SB
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: https://www.theatreroyalwinchester.co.uk/
Box Office: 01962 840440

EPSTEIN THEATRE LIVERPOOL
Monday 4 May – Saturday 9 May 2020
Hanover House, 85 Hanover Street, Liverpool, L1 3DZ
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: https://www.epsteinliverpool.co.uk/
Box Office: 0844 888 4411

GRAND THEATRE BLACKPOOL
Monday 11 May – Wednesday 13 May 2020
33 Church Street, Blackpool, FY1 1HT
Tickets from £22 plus booking fee
Website: https://www.blackpoolgrand.co.uk/
Box Office: 01253 290190

Mark Kelly

Author: Mark Kelly

Music lover. Gig reviewer.
Often found at the merch stand.