Cast announced for The Last Quiz Night On Earth at Hope Mill Theatre

The Last Quiz Night on Earth Image

With the award winning Box of Tricks theatre company recently confirming plans for a UK tour of their latest production, casting has now been announced.

The Last Quiz Night on Earth, a new play by Alison Carr, will run at Manchester’s Hope Mill Theatre and at The Welcome Inn, Salford, in February.  Other dates in the North West include The Two Tubs (Bury), Bank Top Tavern (Oldham) and Cheshire Rural Touring Arts.

Box of Tricks have now confirmed casting for the play which will be staged in urban and rural venues across the country including theatres, village halls, community arts centres and local pubs.

Pub Landlady Kathy will be played by Meriel Scholfield; Meriel trained at RADA and is a regular on TV with appearances in all the major soaps including Coronation Street, fans may recognise her from numerous appearances on the famous cobbles, she has also appeared in Last Tango in Halifax, Holby City and Doctors.

Shaban Dar takes the role of ‘host with the most’, pre-apocalyptic Quizmaster Rav. Shaban is a familiar face in theatre with credits including I Believe in Unicorns (Theatre Alibi),  Peggin Out (Unheard Theatre) and Brink (Royal Exchange Theatre).

Unexpected guests Bobby and Fran played by Chris Jack and Amy Drake bring plenty of drama to the piece when they arrive at the quiz with some unresolved business.

Chris Jack has appeared in a number of stage plays including Beryl (Octagon Theatre),  Noughts and Crosses (Pilot Theatre/ Derby Theatre/ Coventry Belgrade)  and Brighton Rock (York Theatre Royal/ Pilot Theatre); his TV credits include Hollyoaks, Coronation Street and Emmerdale.

Amy Drake’s TV credits include Cold Feet, Hollyoaks and Emmerdale. In theatre Amy has appeared in several productions including A Christmas Carol (Theatr Clwyd) and My Mother Said I Never Should (Theatre by the Lake)

The cast of four will embark upon a UK tour throughout Spring 2020 –connecting with audiences in the heart of local communities.

What is The Last Quiz Night On Earth About?

It’s the final countdown. Landlady Kathy invites audiences to the last quiz night on earth with Quizmaster Rav. He’s the host with the most. But with time ticking, some unexpected guests turn up out of the blue. Bobby wants to settle old scores, and Fran wants one last shot at love. Expect the unexpected to the bitter end and plenty of drama as the show gets quizzical!

The Last Quiz Night on Earth, breaks the fourth wall, plunging audiences in to the drama of the show.

The Last Quiz Night on Earth is written by Alison Carr, directed by Hannah Tyrrell-Pinder, associate producer is Max Emmerson, with design by Katie Scott.

When does The Last Quiz Night On Earth run in the North West?

THE WELCOME INN, SALFORD (in association with The Lowry)
Tuesday 11 February – Saturday 15 February 2020, 7.30pm

HIGHLIGHTS NORTH (Various Venues)
Thursday 20 February – Saturday 22 February 2020, 7.30pm

THE HOLBECK, SLUNG LOW, LEEDS
Sunday 23 February 2020, 5pm

ARTS OUT WEST, KIRKGATE (Various Venues)
Thursday 27 February – Sunday 1 March 2020, 7.30pm

HOPE MILL THEATRE, MANCHESTER
Monday 2 March – Wednesday 4 March 2020, 7.30pm

SPOT ON LANCASHIRE (Various venues)
Thursday 5 March – Sunday 8 March 2020

BANK TOP TAVERN (in association with Oldham Coliseum & live@thelibrary)
Monday 16 March – Tuesday 17 March 2020, 7.30pm

BLACK COUNTRY TOURING (Various venues)
Wednesday 18 March 2020 – Thursday 19 March 2020

POCKLINGTON ARTS CENTRE
Friday 20 March 2020

NORTHWICH MEMORIAL COURT
Saturday 21 March 2020

STEPHEN JOSEPH THEATRE, SCARBOROUGH
Tuesday 24 March – Wednesday 25 March 2020, 7.30pm

HIGHLIGHTS NORTH (Various venues)
Thursday 26 March – Sunday 29 March 2020, 7.30pm

THE BURNTWOOD PUB, BUCKLEY (in association with Theatr Clwyd)
Tuesday 31 March – Wednesday 1 April 2020, 7pm

CHESHIRE RURAL TOURING ARTS (Various venues)
Friday 3 April – Sunday 5 April 2020

THE TWO TUBS, BURY
RADCLIFFE MARKET
RAMSBOTTOM CIVIC HALL
(in association with The Met, Bury)
Tuesday 7 April – Thursday 9 April 2020

THE DUKES, LANCASTER
Friday 10 April – Saturday 11 April 2020

Avatar

Author: Michelle Swift