Manchester Camerata will celebrate dance through the ages at HOME Manchester as they present Upclose: Evolution of Dance, featuring the work of Bach, Bartok … and Daft Punk.

From Bach to Daft Punk, Manchester Camerata are performing a line up of dance music as they are joined Martynas Levickis on Accordion.

The show brings Manchester Camerata’s Spring season to an end.

The evening takes the audience on a musical journey and illustrates the important role dance has played in people’s lives and the human psyche right through the ages. ​

The evening is divided into three parts beginning with two pieces by Bach, whose work was heavily influenced by the dance music of the Baroque period.

Part two focuses on the folk tradition and its importance with music from Bartok and Semyonov, firmly rooted in the traditions of Romanian and Bulgarian folk music.

The last act features music by Daft Punk and Daniel Nelson’s My Inner Disco.

The programme:
Bach – Cello Suite no. 1 in G major
Bach – Orchestral Suite no. 2 in B minor
Bartok – Romanian Folk Dances arr. Simon Parkin
Vyacheslave Semyonov – Bulgarian Folk Suite
Daniel Nelson – My Inner Disco
Daft Punk – Get Lucky

After the performance, the evening moves to the bar at HOME Manchester with Matthew Rothery, one third of Manchester’s Kiss Me Again, performing a set.

When do Manchester Camerata perform Upclose: Evolution of Dance at HOME Manchester?

Manchester Camerata perform Upclose: Evolution of Dance at HOME Manchester on Wednesday 29 May.

image of Martynas Levickis courtesy Gediminas Žilinskas