Previewed: Karma To Burn at The Deaf Institute

Stoner rockers and riff masters Karma To Burn are set to perform at Manchester’s Deaf Institute on Tuesday 19th August.

The gig is coming the day after the West Virginia rockers sixth album, Arch Stanton, is released.

The band has maintained their rhythmic rock style since their eponymous 1997 debut album, rarely steering away from the brand of music which has brought them critical acclaim and cult status.

Arch Stanton features seven new tracks as wells as revisiting one of their classic (yet never before heard numbers) 23 and has been dubbed as a true return to their West Virginia roots, backed by spiritualism, mysticism and unrelenting grooves and recreates the trance-like journeys which have been at the heart of their success.  Previews of the album saw it receive rave reviews from critics.

The band, which is renowned for the largely instrumental approach which brought them such acclaim with their album Almost Heathen and the habit of naming their songs simply as numbers, have a strong reputation for heavy, noise laden riffs, pleasing rock and guitar fans.

This is set to be an immense gig.

Support comes from Desert Storm.
The full tour will see Karma To Burn taking in:

Friday 15th August – o2 Academy2, Oxford
Saturday 16th August – The Moon Club, Cardiff
Sunday 17th August – The Joiners, Southampton
Monday 18th August – The Wedgewood rooms, Portsmouth
Tuesday 19th August – The Deaf Institute, Manchester
Wednesday 20th August – Fibbers, York
Thursday 21st August – The Zephyr Lounge, Leamington Spa
Friday 22nd August – Bannermans, Edinburgh
Saturday 23rd August – Classic Grand, Glasgow
Sunday 24th August – The Cluny, Newcastle
Monday 25th August – The White Rabbit, Plymouth
Tuesday 26th August – The Fleece, Bristol
Wednesday 27th August – Picturedrome, Northampton
Thursday 28th August – The Live Rooms, Chester
Friday 29th August – The Anvil, Bournemouth
Saturday 30th August – The Underworld, London
Sunday 31st August – Fibber Magees, Dublin
Mon 1st September – Voodoo, Belfast


You may also be interested in:

In Review: The Orielles at The Deaf Institute

In Review: The Courtesans at The Ruby Lounge

In Review: Joan as Police Woman at Gorilla

Editorial Team

Author: Editorial Team

Live Manchester editorial team