An 18 track compilation album is set to raise funds for the charity MancSpirit, supporting their Creative Change Homeless Project.

MANC MADE /// ACTS OF HOPE has been created and curated by Ben Guy of the band narcissus and brought to life by Manchester’s new record label 42’s Records.  The album features native and adopted Manchester talents including Johnny Marr, Maxine Peak, Ist Ist, Liines, Argh Kid, Jess Kemp, Space Monkeys and Peter Hook.

The idea came to Ben Guy after he made a donation following an online appeal.  After considering what more could be done to help within Manchester’s creative heart, he decided to compile a fundraising album of tracks donated by a string of Manchester acts and artists.  He set about creative the album, ensuring it would be cohesive but featuring a diverse range of talent at all levels of the Manchester music scene, crossing genres.

[adrotate banner=”3″]

The album artwork has been designed by local designer and photographer Paul Evans, referencing classic Mancunian imagery.

100% of sales proceeds from all CD’s downloads and merchandise will go straight to MancSpirit—Greater Manchester’s Mental Wellbeing Charity—to support their ‘Creative Change’ project.

Speaking about the cause, Damian Carr, co-founder of MancSpirit commented, “Everything we do is aimed at improving mental wellbeing by creating social connections, providing entertainment and offering people the opportunity to join in, make friends and have fun.

“Our ‘Creative Change’ project started with us visiting people struggling with homelessness on the streets, in hostels and day centres, to listen to their needs for creative activity. We create & facilitate that creative activity to help their mental wellbeing, help them re-engage with the amazing support services out there and, hopefully, help them off the streets and into their own home.

“We value those people and organisations that share our vision of caring for others, helping those that help others, getting stuck in and getting things done. When Ben and 42’s Records offered to support our ‘Creative Change’ project it was exactly what we were about. Greater Manchester’s musicians, artists, writers & designers – Our Creative Community – stepping up, getting involved and taking positive action.

“With the arrival of Covid-19 we soon realised that the project needed to be expanded to include other people who had become isolated, especially the elderly.

“Every CD, T-shirt or poster you buy provides us with the funds to expand and develop this work across the whole of Our Greater Manchester”

Paul Ludden, MancMade Founder, and Co-founder of The MancSpirit Charity added, “The MancMade /// Acts of Hope Album has taken a huge effort from Ben Guy, (narcissus) Phil Morris and Andy Wood (42’s Records). When Andy called me to say they’d like to support the charity by putting together an Album we had a chat about the artists we could approach. From the start it was massively important to me that this album had a fair chunk of new, up and coming artists involved. The 18 tracks they’ve come up with absolutely backs that up and they’ve even managed to get a few Manchester legends involved too.

“Our City, by Dave Viney, is especially poignant for both me and Damian. It’s been the unofficial anthem for the MancSpirit Charity since day one. Hearing Dave’s beautiful words now backed up by an amazing narcissus track sums up everything about this Album and everyone who has helped to bring it to life.”


1. Show Me The Truth – Gaz Whelan and Rowetta feat. Suga Mike
2. Neighbours – ARGH KiD
3. Exist – IST IST
4. Camden – Jess Kemp
5. Oxford Street – Narrow Margin
6. No-one Talks – Jake Fletcher
7. The Priest – Johnny Marr and Maxine Peake
8. Itksuarpok (UNE remix) – UNE (Mark Radcliffe and Paul Langley)
9. When I Arrived It Was Raining – Diving Station
10. Piano Sylogtr7 – Rebelski
11. Sleep – Déjà Vega
12. Wanderlust – James Holt
13. Never Wanted This – LIINES
14. 302: Come The Revolution-Thieves Will Die! – MANRAy (Ft. Peter Hook)
15. Wolves – Brix & The Extricated
16. Car Crash (Kerbside mix) – Factory Acts
17. Give Me Some Space – Space Monkeys
18. Our City – Dave Viney & narcissus

The album is available for pre-order via 42srecords.