Alanis Morissette is set to release her hugely successful compilation The Collection for the first time ever on vinyl.

The 19-track vinyl release comes nearly two decades after she originally release her huge greatest hits The Collection on CD.

The Collection will be available as a 2-LP on black vinyl, which is available for pre-order.  The transparent grape-vinyl version will be available on release exclusively through HMV and Record Store Day indie retailers.

The Collection delves in to the seven-time Grammy Award winner’s career between 1995 and 2005 when she broke out in the US.  The compilation includes well known singles, soundtrack selections and her performance of Seal’s hit Crazy.  The album also features five songs from her number one smash Jagged Little Pill including You Oughta Know, Ironic and You Learn.  Tracks from triple-platinum album Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie also find a place on The Collection including her Top 20 hit Thank You.

Several songs on The Collection weren’t released on Morissette’s studio albums, like Princes Familiar from her 1999 gold-certified MTV Unplugged album and Sister Blister from the 2002 compilation Feast on Scraps.  A few of the singer’s soundtrack contributions are featured including Still from Kevin Smith’s 1999 film, Dogma, where Morissette played the role of God.

Alanis Morissette releases The Collection on vinyl on Friday 25 August 2023.

Alanis Morissette – 1995 Photo – image courtesy Michele Laurita and Warner Music Group